Greatest New York Times Graphic Ever?

As someone who painstakingly researches and proofreads the details of inane and archaic law for 12 hours a work day, my dream job would have been to compile the data for this, perhaps the greatest New York Times graphic ever:

What’s Cooking on Thanksgiving?

As Chris and I were treated to three green bean casseroles, three corn casseroles and three pumpkin pies at one of our family’s Thanksgiving we attended last year, I can attest to the statistical accuracy.  I am still perplexed by Wisconsin’s constant “Blue State” status with regard to practically every holiday food The Times polled.  Hmmm.  We know that Sandra Lee alone isn’t responsible for all those hits.  As my Dad was a Norwegian-Wisconsinite, perhaps *THAT* is where I inherited my penchant for cooking far too many dishes for a single gathering.

Enjoy and Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

p.s.

Though I am taking my standard 30 ingredient cornbread and a savory butternut squash crumble this year, last year I tackled my first Thomas Keller recipe.  It was for a Deconstructed Roasted Green Bean Casserole.  It is incredibly easy (seriously…I’m not messing with you) and delicious, satisfying both the green bean casserole purists and naysayers alike.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

